Stellar Gospel Music Awards Show

The Stellar Awards Gospel Music Show is the first and oldest televised awards show honoring Gospel Music for over 38 years.


2023 Stellar Gospel Music Awards

Tasha Cobbs Leonard

It was in 1985 when Don Jackson, Chairman and CEO of Central City Productions had a vision to create a television awards show to salute the works of Gospel artists, and other industry professionals for their priceless contributions to the Gospel music industry. With the blessings of the late Reverend James Cleveland and the divine inspiration from the Gospel Music Workshop Association (GMWA), the Stellar Gospel Music Awards, dubbed the "Greatest Night in Gospel Music," was formed. Today, the Stellar Gospel Music Awards Show continues in its success with the growth and popularity of Gospel music and the artists who perform, write, produce, and market it. The Stellar Awards is now the longest airing African American Gospel Music awards show on television.

The 38th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards, known as the "Greatest Night in Gospel Music," invites viewers across the country to experience the power of faith and inspiration through extraordinary performances and well-deserved accolades. Hosted by Jonathan McReynolds and Tasha Cobbs Leonard, this must-see event premieres on the newly-launched Stellar Network on Sunday, July 30 at 6 p.m. ET (available on Charter Spectrum and Verizon Fios);Viewers can check with their local providers for availability.

With appearances and powerhouse performances viewers won’t want to miss, this unforgettable evening celebrates Gospel music's rich diversity, exceptional talent and unwavering spirit with some of the industry's most iconic artists and special honorees. The 2023 Stellar Awards telecast features moving performances by two legends of the genre, CeCe Winans (Aretha Franklin Icon Award honoree) and Dottie Peoples (Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legends Award honoree). An electrifying opening performance of "Miracles" and "Impossible" by Kierra Sheard Kelly and Pastor Mike, Jr., the night's biggest winner, sets the stage for an awe-inspiring praise party that embodies the essence and impact of Gospel music.

Other award recipients and performers appearing on the show include Rev. Dr. Milton Biggham (James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award), Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones (Thomas A. Dorsey Most Notable Achievement Award), DOE, Zacardi Cortez, Kirk Franklin, Israel Houghton, Tye Tribbett, Naomi Raine of Maverick City Music, Natalie Grant, Charles Jenkins, Isaac Carree, Jazze Pha, Jevon Dewand & The TrapStarz, Maranda Curtis, Tim Bowman Jr. & Faith City Music, and Zak Williams & 1 Akord. Also performing on the AT&T Emerging Voices stage is Lena Byrd Miles, Bishop S.Y. Younger, and Victory.

Jonathan McReynolds Tasha Cobbs Leonard
Kirk Franklin Tye Tribett

Presenters include Adrienne Bailon-Houghton, Marvin Sapp, Lady Tramaine Hawkins, Brian Courtney Wilson, Erica Campbell, Isabel Davis, James Fortune, Koryn Hawthorne, Jason Clayborn, NOTKARLTONBANKS, Shirley Caesar and Travis Greene for this distinctive celebration of Gospel music's finest.

The Stellar Gospel Music Awards is the first and only Gospel Music Awards show in the country, honoring Gospel Music artists, writers, and industry professionals for their contributions to the Gospel Music Industry. The Stellar Awards ranks high in status as the only Gospel Music television awards program syndicated in over 140 markets nationwide. For more information, please visit